apple patient
  • Home
  • News
  • Rumors
  • Tips & Tricks
  • Reviews
  • Insights
No Result
View All Result
  • iPhone 18
  • iOS 27
  • iPadOS 27
  • macOS
  • MacBook Neo
  • iPhone 17e
  • AirTags
  • iOS 26
  • iPhone 17
  • MacBook Pro
  • iPadOS
  • iMac
  • Mac mini
  • HomePod
  • Apple TV
  • iPad Pro
  • iPhone Air
  • Apple Vision Pro
  • iPhone 16
  • AirPods 4
  • Apple Watch Ultra
  • HomePod Mini
  • MacBook Air
  • iPad
  • AirPods Max
  • AirPods Pro 3
  • Apple Watch Series 3
  • Mac Studio
  • Studio Display
  • iPad Air
  • iPad mini
  • watchOS 27
  • Apple CarPlay
  • Apple Pay
  • watchOS 26
  • Home
  • News
  • Rumors
  • Tips & Tricks
  • Reviews
  • Insights
No Result
View All Result
apple patient
No Result
View All Result
  • iPhone 18
  • iOS 27
  • iPadOS 27
  • macOS
  • MacBook Neo
  • iPhone 17e
  • AirTags
  • iOS 26
  • iPhone 17
  • MacBook Pro
  • iPadOS
  • iMac
  • Mac mini
  • HomePod
  • Apple TV
  • iPad Pro
  • iPhone Air
  • Apple Vision Pro
  • iPhone 16
  • AirPods 4
  • Apple Watch Ultra
  • HomePod Mini
  • MacBook Air
  • iPad
  • AirPods Max
  • AirPods Pro 3
  • Apple Watch Series 3
  • Mac Studio
  • Studio Display
  • iPad Air
  • iPad mini
  • watchOS 27
  • Apple CarPlay
  • Apple Pay
  • watchOS 26

AirPods buying guide: AirPods 5, Pro 3 or Max 2?

Milan Jovicic by Milan Jovicic
September 12, 2026 - 01:51 CEST
in Apple Insights
0
AirPods buying guide: AirPods 5, AirPods Pro 3 and AirPods Max side by side on a white background

Image: Apple / Apfelpatient

WhatsAppFacebookEmail
Threads

Three models, a price difference of 430 euros – and all three contain the same chip. The justification for the higher price isn't listed under "Processor" in the data sheet, but rather in the noise cancellation, battery life, and health features. Only one of these features is available on a single model.

Apple's headphone lineup has consisted of three current models since September 2026: the AirPods 5 starting at €149, the AirPods Pro 3 for €249, and the AirPods Max 2 starting at €579. The AirPods 4 have been discontinued, and the entry-level model is now called the AirPods 5 – which, for the first time, features active noise cancellation as standard, a feature previously only available on the more expensive models. The information in this text is taken from the German datasheets for the AirPods 5, the AirPods Pro 3, and the AirPods Max 2. The differences in noise cancellation between the models have changed with the new generation – details can be found in the direct comparison between the AirPods 5 and AirPods Pro 3.

Key Facts at a Glance

  • All three models use the H2 chip – the Max 2 has had it in every earcup since this generation.
  • Hearing test, hearing aid function and hearing protection according to EN 352 are exclusively available with the AirPods Pro 3, as is heart rate measurement during workouts.
  • Only the AirPods Max 2 support lossless audio over USB-C – the two in-ear models lack this feature.
  • AirPods 5 and Pro 3 are IP57-rated for dust, sweat, and water resistance; Apple does not specify a protection rating for the Max 2.
  • The AirPods 5 come in two versions that differ in battery life and operation – not just in the charging case.

A direct comparison of the three models

FeatureAirPods 5AirPods Pro 3AirPods Max 2
Price149 euros (169 with wireless charging case)249 eurosfrom 579 euros
Designopen, without ear insertsIn-ear headphones with five ear tip sizesOver-ear
ChipH2H2, ultra-wideband chip in the caseH2 per ear cup
Weight4.3 g per earphone5.55 g per earphone386.2 g
Protection classIP57IP57–
Battery life with ANC4 hrs (5 hrs)8 hours.20 hours
With charging case20 hrs (22 hrs)24 hours–
5 minutes chargingapprox. 1 hour.approx. 1 hour.approx. 1.5 hours.
Hearing health–Hearing test, hearing aid, hearing protection–
Heart rate–in the workout–
Lossless audio––via USB-C
Live translationYesYesYes, from iOS 26.4 onwards.
Charging cable includednonoYes

AirPods 5: Noise cancellation at no extra cost

The most noticeable change in this generation isn't in the spec sheet, but in the product lineup. With the AirPods 4, Apple offered two separate models – one with and one without Active Noise Cancellation. With the AirPods 5, it's a standard feature, along with Adaptive Audio, Transparency mode, conversation detection, and voice isolation. Apple claims the noise cancellation is up to 1.5 times better than the AirPods 4 with ANC, as measured according to IEC 60268-24.

AirPods buying guide: AirPods 5 wireless charging case above an Apple Watch charger
The wireless charging case also charges via the Apple Watch charger. (Image: Apple)

The design remains open, without silicone tips. This is the main difference to the Pro series and a matter of comfort, not features: those who find ear tips bothersome still get noise cancellation here. The downside is physical – without a seal in the ear canal, the passive noise isolation on which the Pro models rely is absent.

When buying, a second question arises that is more important than the name suggests. The version with the wireless charging case costs €20 more and offers three things: one additional hour of playtime per charge, two additional hours in total with the case, and a pressure sensor with swipe gestures for volume control. Without this gesture, there is no volume control on the earbuds. Neither version includes a USB-C cable.

AirPods Pro 3: The only model with health features

The Pro 3 is the model whose datasheet contains sections completely absent from the other two. Under "Hearing Health," Apple lists the hearing test, the hearing aid function including automatic conversation amplification, and the hearing protection, which, when EN-352 protection is activated, meets the corresponding standard. These features are intended for users 18 years and older and require a paired iPhone or iPad.

AirPods buying guide: AirPods Pro 3 with silicone ear tips above the open MagSafe charging case
Image: Apple

In addition, there's a heart rate monitor for workouts that sends data to the fitness app or compatible third-party apps. This reduces battery life: instead of 8 hours, it's then 6.5. Using the hearing aid function in transparency mode extends the battery life to up to 10 hours.

The biggest difference is in noise cancellation: Apple claims the Pro 3 cancels up to three times more noise than the AirPods 5, and four times more than the first AirPods Pro. Five ear tip sizes, including XXS, are included – an unusually large number, and in practice, a prerequisite for achieving these claims. For details on what the current generation has gained over its predecessors, see our comparison of the Pro generations.

AirPods Max 2: Long battery life and lossless sound

The Max 2 are the only over-ear model and, at 386.2 grams, weigh around 45 times as much as a single AirPod. However, they offer two features that no in-ear model provides.

The first point is battery life: 20 hours with active noise cancellation on a single charge. This is exactly what the AirPods 5 achieve with their charging case – only without the need for a charging stop. Five minutes of charging provides about an hour and a half, while the two in-ear models last about an hour. There is no separate charging case; the Smart Case simply extends battery life through its low power consumption in standby mode.

AirPods buying guide: AirPods Max 2 case colours side by side
Image: Apple

The second feature is lossless audio with extremely low latency over USB-C. Apple lists it exclusively in the Max 2 specifications, and the corresponding cable is included with only one of the three models. Nine microphones, an Apple-designed dynamic driver, and the Digital Crown for volume control complete the package. We've detailed the sound improvements compared to the first generation in our Max 2 audio enhancements article.

One point is missing from the data sheet and should be clear before buying: Apple doesn't specify a dust or moisture protection rating for the Max 2. While the AirPods 5 and Pro 3 are rated IP57, the Max 2 has no such rating. This makes it less than ideal for outdoor sports.

What the price premiums actually buy

There are two price jumps between the three models: 100 euros from the AirPods 5 to the Pro 3, and another 330 euros to the Max 2. These two jumps buy completely different things.

The first upgrade buys features that can't be added later: triple noise cancellation, hearing health features, a heart rate monitor, and double the battery life per charge. Considering the €100 price difference, this is the most comprehensive package in the entire range.

The second upgrade buys you design and sound quality – over-ear instead of in-ear, lossless audio via cable, 20 hours of continuous use. It also takes away features that the cheaper models offer: the IP rating, heart rate monitoring, and everything else related to hearing health. The higher price is therefore not an upgrade in the sense of "more of everything," but rather a change of product type.

Which model is worthwhile for whom?

For most people, the AirPods 5 are sufficient – and the version with the wireless charging case is the more practical of the two, because the volume control on the earbuds is more relevant in everyday use than wireless charging. They are suitable for anyone who doesn't like ear tips and are the lightest model in the range.

The AirPods Pro 3 are the choice if any of three points apply: you want true silence on the train or plane, you exercise and want to measure your heart rate without an additional device, or the hearing-related features are important to you. The last point carries the most weight because no other Apple product can cover it.

The AirPods Max 2 are worthwhile for long listening sessions at a desk, for lossless playback via cable, and for anyone who generally finds in-ear headphones uncomfortable. They are overkill as sports or commuter headphones.

For all three models: Once paired, they automatically switch between devices on the same Apple account. Instructions on how to set up and reset them can be found in our guide for all AirPods models.

This time, the chip is not the dividing line

With Apple, you can usually tell how a product range is structured by the chip generation. Here, that's misleading: the H2 chip is in all three models, and since this generation, it's also in the Max 2, which previously used the older H1. Choosing based on the chip is pointless.

The real difference lies in the additional features included – a skin detection sensor and a heart rate monitor in the Pro 3, nine microphones and a dynamic driver in the Max 2, and two beamforming microphones in all models. And in the design, which, in any case, is more important for everyday use than any number on the spec sheet.

In practical terms, this means: The €100 difference between the entry-level and the Pro models is the amount worth considering. The €330 difference is a decision for a different type of headphones, not necessarily a better model of the same type. Which of the three are on your shortlist – and what's the deciding factor for you: quiet listening on the go or superior sound quality at home? Let us know your reasoning in the comments.

Frequently Asked Questions: AirPods Buying Guide

Which AirPods should I buy?

For most people, the AirPods 5, starting at €149, are sufficient – they come standard with active noise cancellation since this generation. The AirPods Pro 3, at €249, are worth it if you need three times stronger noise cancellation, heart rate monitoring during workouts, or features related to hearing health. The AirPods Max 2, starting at €579, are over-ear headphones for long listening sessions and lossless audio playback via cable.

What is the difference between AirPods 5 and AirPods 5 with Wireless Charging Case?

Three things for an extra 20 euros: one more hour of battery life per charge (5 instead of 4 hours with ANC), two more hours total with the case (22 instead of 20), and the pressure sensor with swipe gesture for volume control. Without this gesture, the volume cannot be changed on the earbuds. The case also has a speaker for Find My.

Do the AirPods 5 have noise cancellation?

Yes, and at no extra cost. With the AirPods 4, there was a separate, more expensive model for this. Apple claims the noise cancellation is up to 1.5 times better than the AirPods 4 with ANC, measured according to IEC 60268-24. However, because the AirPods 5 are open-back and don't seal the ear canal, they lack the passive noise isolation of the Pro models.

Which AirPods can measure heart rate?

Only the AirPods Pro 3. The sensor is intended for workouts with the Fitness app and compatible third-party apps and requires an iPhone with iOS 26 or later. It reduces battery life: instead of up to 8 hours, it's only 6.5 hours with active measurement.

Which AirPods are suitable as hearing aids?

Only the AirPods Pro 3 offer this. They are the only current model to feature a hearing test, a hearing aid function with automatic conversation amplification, and hearing protection according to EN 352. These features are intended for people aged 18 and over with mild to moderate hearing loss. With the active hearing aid function in Transparency mode, the battery lasts up to 10 hours.

Which AirPods support lossless audio?

Only the AirPods Max 2 support this, and only via a wired USB-C connection. The necessary cable is included – uniquely among the three models. Apple doesn't list lossless audio in the specifications for the AirPods 5 and Pro 3; a USB-C cable isn't included either.

Are AirPods waterproof?

None. AirPods 5 and Pro 3 are IP57-rated for dust, sweat, and water resistance – intended for outdoor sports, not swimming. Apple does not specify an IP rating for AirPods Max 2. In any case, the protection is not permanent and diminishes over time; the headphones should not be charged while wet.

Make Apfelpatient a preferred source One click – and you'll see us more often on Google
Was this article helpful?
YesNo
Tags: AirPodsAirPods 5AirPods MaxAirPods Max 2
SendShareSend
Share

Our Amazon Storefront

A handpicked selection of products for iPhone, Mac and more – sorted by topic and updated regularly.

Shop Now

This post contains affiliate links (including Amazon). We earn a small commission on qualifying purchases – at no extra cost to you. Learn more on our Partner Program page.

Previous Post

Apple Watch buying guide: SE 3, Series 12 or Ultra 4?

Milan Jovicic

Milan Jovicic

Milan founded Apfelpatient in 2016 and has been responsible for all editorial content since 2018 — news, rumors, guides, and product reviews. Apple devices here are not test units on loan for two weeks but everyday tools: from the iPhone through MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, and iMac to the Apple Vision Pro, at least one device from nearly every product category is in daily use, many of them replaced annually. Every menu path in a guide is verified on the device before it is published.

Related posts

Apple Watch buying guide: Apple Watch SE 3, Series 12 and Ultra 4 side by side on a light background
Apple Insights

Apple Watch buying guide: SE 3, Series 12 or Ultra 4?

September 12, 2026 - 00:57 CEST
Apple Watch Series 12 vs SE 3: both models shown side by side to scale
Apple Insights

Apple Watch Series 12 vs. SE 3: Is it worth the extra 180 euros?

September 11, 2026 - 11:50 p.m. CEST
iOS 27.1 release: Settings icon on a blue gradient background
Apple Insights

iOS 27.1: When the first update will be released

September 11, 2026 - 10:18 p.m. CEST

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Required fields are marked with * marked.

By submitting, you consent to the storage of your comment along with your name, email address and IP address. Details are available in our privacy policy.

Categories

  • Apple Insights
  • Apple Rumors
  • Apple News
  • Apple Tips & Tricks
  • iPhone news, rumors and tips
  • Mac and MacBook News
  • Reviews

About APFELPATIENT

APFELPATIENT brings you the latest Apple news, product updates, guides, reviews and tips across the entire Apple ecosystem — from the iPhone to the Mac to the Apple Vision Pro. From the first rumors to confirmed news: researched responsibly.

Follow Apfelpatient

Facebook Instagram YouTube Threads Threads

Company

  • About Apfelpatient
  • Contact
  • Author Profiles

Community

  • Netiquette
  • Push Notifications
  • RSS feed

Legal

  • Legal Notice
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Cookie Settings
  • Affiliate Program

Resources

  • Sitemap

© 2026 Apfelpatient. All rights reserved.

No Result
View All Result
  • Home
  • News
  • Rumors
  • Tips & Tricks
  • Reviews
  • Insights

© 2026 Apfelpatient. All rights reserved. Page Directory

Change language to Deutsch